With Order of March 18, 2020 declared the Federal Council first time the standstill according to Art. 62 DEBA, starting on March 19, 2020, 07:00 a.m until am 4.  April 2020. Nachdem from April 5 to am 19 April 2020 anyway are debt enforcement holidays, the legal standstill lasts thereby until am 19 April 2020 (cf. Art. 56 No. 2 pCHKG).  

Debt enforcement holidays and legal standstill cannot prevent the standstill of the deadline. However, if the end of a period coincides with the legal standstill, the period will be extended until the third day after the end of the legal standstill or the bankruptcy holidays case as ao until am 22 April 2020 (cf. Art. 63 DEBA). 

The regulations leads over closed times Operational holidays and legal standstill according to Art. 56 et seq. SchKG are aimed at Debt enforcement officials and all other authorities who have a decisive influence on the course of the debt enforcement. The enforcement authorities therefore also include Bankruptcy officials, bankruptcy and bankruptcy judges, and their regulators. 

It is essential that  debt enforcement actions during this time are prohibitedIn BGE 115 III 6 E.5 effect the federal court as debt enforcement actions "all actions of the enforcement authorities - prosecution and bankruptcy officials, supervisory authorities, court opening and bankruptcy judges - aimed at the initiation or continuation of proceedings aimed at satisfying the creditor by way of execution from the debtor's assets, and which interfere with the legal position of the debtor (...).» 

To check whether a specific arrangement constitutes a debt collection act to ask for it,  the debt enforcement in ein advanceds Stage brought shall. The central Question reads somites, whether an action den creditor/operators closer to his Zgood (cf. BGE 115 III 6 E.5 as well as BGE 121 III 284 E. 2a). 

If a debt enforcement act is carried out during the debt enforcement holidays or during the legal standstill, then - apart from cases of nullity and contestability - the Effectiveness of the untimely debt enforcement action postponed. According to this, the debt enforcement action is deemed to have taken place on the first day after the expiration of des legal stay performed. Because of this time component   the plot however Weder void nor contestable. 

Nicht as a enforcement actions are to be counted the request of the creditoras as the debt enforcement- or requests for disclosure of rights.  While the Execution of the payment order by the debt enforcement office does not constitute a debt enforcement act, the order for payment may not be served on the debtor during a legal standstill or debt enforcement holidays (cf. Art. 69 para. 1 SchKG as well as Art. 71 para. 1 DEBA). In this way also becomes one sudden Overload of the debt collection offices after Abcourse of the legal standstill prevents because youdue to the incomingn Collection request the payment orders so far can edit so that they only have to be delivered. The issuance of the certificate of loss and the arrest verdict also do not constitute debt enforcement actionsdrive 

Ultimately, the decreed law changestillstand nothing on the stock of debt claimsIn particular, will from durch legal standstill also the interest rate is not inhibited.  

 

Experts

Mit Verfügung vom 18. März 2020 erklärte der Bundesrat erstmals den Rechtsstillstand gemäss Art. 62 SchKG, beginnend am 19. März 2020, 07:00 Uhr bis am 4.  April  2020. Nachdem vom 5. April bis am 19. April 2020 ohnehin Betreibungsferien sind, dauert der Rechtsstillstand dadurch bis am 19. April 2020 (vgl. Art. 56 Ziff. 2 SchKG).  

Betreibungsferien und Rechtsstillstand vermögen den Fristenstillstand nicht zu hindern. Fällt jedoch das Ende einer Frist in den Rechtsstillstand, so wird die Frist bis zum Dritten Tag nach Ablauf der Rechtsstillstandes oder der Betreibungsferien verlängert, in casu also bis am 22. April 2020 (vgl. Art. 63 SchKG). 

Die Bestimmungen über geschlossene Zeiten, Betreibungsferien und Rechtsstillstand gemäss Art. 56 ff. SchKG richten sich an Betreibungsbeamte, und alle anderen Behörden die bestimmend auf den Gang der Betreibung einwirken. Zu den Vollstreckungsbehörden gehören demnach auch Konkursbeamte, Rechtsöffnungs- und Konkursrichter, sowie deren Aufsichtsbehörden. 

Wesentlich ist, dass  während dieser Zeit Betreibungshandlungen untersagt sindIn BGE 115 III 6 E. 5 hat das Bundesgericht als Betreibungshandlungen «alle Handlungen der Vollstreckungsbehörden – Betreibungs- und Konkursbeamten, Aufsichtsbehörden, Rechtsöffnungs- und Konkursrichter – bezeichnet, die auf Einleitung oder Fortsetzung eines Verfahrens gerichtet sind, das darauf abzielt, den Gläubiger auf dem Wege der Zwangsvollstreckung aus dem Vermögen des Schuldners zu befriedigen, und die in die Rechtsstellung des Schuldners eingreifen (…).» 

Um zu prüfen, ob eine bestimmte Vorkehrung eine Betreibungshandlung darstellt, ist danach zu fragen, ob die Schuldbetreibung in ein vorgerücktes Stadium gebracht wird (vgl. ). Die zentrale Frage lautet somit, ob eine Handlung den Gläubiger/Betreibenden näher zu seinem Ziel bringt (vgl. BGE 115 III 6 E.5 sowie BGE 121 III 284 E. 2a). 

Wird eine Betreibungshandlung während den Betreibungsferien oder während dem Rechtsstillstand vorgenommen, so wird – abgesehen von den Fällen der Nichtigkeit und der Anfechtbarkeit – die Wirksamkeit der unzeitigen Betreibungshandlung aufgeschoben. Demnach gilt die Betreibungshandlung als zum ersten Tag nach Ablauf des Rechtsstillstands vorgenommen. Aufgrund dieser zeitlichen Komponente ist die Handlung jedoch weder nichtig noch  anfechtbar. 

Nicht als Betreibungshandlungen zu zählen sind die Begehren des Gläubigers, wie z.B. das Betreibungs oder Rechtsöffnungsbegehren.  Während die Ausfertigung des Zahlungsbefehles durch das Betreibungsamt keine Betreibungshandlung darstellt, darf der Zahlungsbefehl während Rechtsstillstand oder Betreibungsferien dem Schuldner nicht zugestellt werden (vgl. Art. 69 Abs. 1 SchKG sowie Art. 71 Abs. 1 SchKG). Auf diese Weise wird auch eine plötzliche Überlastung der Betreibungsämter nach Ablauf des Rechtsstillstands verhindert, weil siaufgrund der eingehenden Betreibungsbegehren die Zahlungsbefehle so weit bearbeiten können, dass sie nur noch zugestellt werden müssen. Ebenfalls keine Betreibungshandlungen stellen die Ausstellung des Verlustscheines und das Arrestverfahren dar. 

Letzten Endes ändert der verfügte Rechtsstillstand nichts am Bestand der SchuldforderungenInsbesondere wird durch den Rechtsstillstand auch nicht der Zinsenlauf gehemmt.  

 

Experts